Clear all

How to model step up in basis upon death of spouse

5 Posts
3 Users
1 Likes
(@hodes556)
Active Member Customer
Topic starter  

E.g., I own a rental property. I plan to sell the property upon or soon after the projected death-date of my spouse. (She is more than ten years older than me.) Pralana Gold shows a substantial LTCG and deprecation recapture which, I believe, should be much smaller due to the step-up in basis to Fair Market Value.

Note, in my case, I live in a community property state, so the entire rental property should receive a step-up in basis upon the death of my spouse.

Similarly, a taxable brokerage account should also receive a step up in basis upon the death of a spouse.

ReplyQuote
(@ricke)
Trusted Member Customer

I asked for this some time back too.

But we're assuming it's simple and I don't know if that's accurate. I'm no lawyer, but a little reading showed it can be different in community property vs. other states, and depending on whether the assets were commingled, held in a trust, etc. Interestingly, I saw that carryover losses (which 2022 gave me plenty of 😢 ) can all be used up, without getting cut in half, even after a spouse dies, if done in the same year. So an alert surviving spouse should gain harvest (sell and instantly re-buy) to use up the losses so they don't get cut in half.

It would be a research project for Stuart and Charlie to see if it would be doable to provide a way for the user to select whether to do a step-up basis on various assets. If it's doable, it would be another differentiator between Pralana and other products.

ReplyQuote
(@hodes556)
Active Member Customer
Topic starter  

Thanks, Richard.