After Tax Contribut...

Notifications
Clear all

After Tax Contribution - Tax Deferred Accounts?

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@logella)
New Member Customer
Topic starter  

I'm very new to PRC. I downloaded Gold for the first time a few days ago and am working on inputting my information. One thing has me stumped though is the After Tax Contribution for the Tax Deferred Accounts. I've got two such accounts. The first being and Traditional IRA from my previous employer and the other being a lump sum pension payment from the same employer that I rolled into a separate IRA account. Both accounts are held at Vanguard and I'm unsure where/how to find this information. Any guidance would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

ReplyQuote
(@smatthews51)
Member Admin

Hi Logella,

Based on the information in your question, it's not clear to me that there are any After Tax Contributions in these accounts. In PRC, After Tax Contributions refers to annual contributions made that were beyond the deductible limits ($6000 or $7000 in 2020). I'm probably missing something, so would you please clarify your question? Thanks!

ReplyQuote
(@logella)
New Member Customer
Topic starter  

Both accounts are classified as non-Roth IRA accounts.

The first account is comprised of my old 401(k) account that I rolled over to an IRA at Vanguard. The balance was made up of my contributions up to the 401(k) max each year plus the employer match. No additional contributions have been made.

The second account is from my pension plan lump-sum payout (rather than take the annuity) from the same employer. No additional contributions have been made to this account other than reinvestment of dividends.

Both accounts were setup when I retired in late 2019 and then "funded" (i.e. the rollover/transfers completed) in early 2020. It sounds like there might not be any After Tax Contributions for me to take into consideration within PRC.

ReplyQuote
(@morlock103)
Eminent Member Customer

Logella,