Clear all

Use inflation or not?

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@debit)
Eminent Member Customer
Topic starter  

I'm new to Pralana, and a recent retiree, but not new to retirement planning software. I've been using the Boglehead's Retiree Portfolio Model for quite a while to decide about Roth conversions, and am intrigued by the similarities and differences in results. Because I'm nitpicky, I decided to do a comparison between RPM and Pralana, and posted about it in the Boglehead forum.

I started with just my portfolio, no income, expenses, taxes or inflation, and proceeded to add back one at a time. I was very gratified that the results for my trial portfolio came out very similar at end of life. The EOL portfolio values continued to be similar between the two, until I added back inflation to both. From what I can determine, the taxable account is growing at a much higher rate in Pralana, and I doubt I will be able to reconcile the two. I am continuing to view results in today's $$. If I switch to future $$, the differences become crazy high, which leads me to assume the RPM is displaying things in today's $$ even when are inflation factors.

So I am now wondering, do most of you use inflation numbers in your planning? My biggest reason for using Pralana is to double check my Roth conversion plan, and that is working great. I would love to be able to trust the future $$ numbers too, and eventually I will compare what I am seeing with my Otar Retirement Planner which is another purchased tool (I think discontinued as of this year). It is very rigorous for testing whether your portfolio will last, using historical data and if I remember correctly, no need for user assumptions about inflation.