Clear all

Private equity investment

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@haskins171)
New Member Customer
Topic starter  

I originally listed this in the Trouble shooting section, but later got to thinking that maybe it is a question better posted in the How-to Forum.

I am new to the PRC this year and have finally entered all the requested financial information and now starting to look at reports and What if scenarios. All the reports are understandable with one exception. I have an investment in a private equity company that I expect to liquidate in 5 years. If I try to list that investment in the Initial Balances tab, it doesn't fit neatly into any of the categories available. And if I were to list it as a Regular Investment account, I see no opportunity in the other tabs to specify a date of liquidation. If I list it under Windfalls in the Income tab, I can specify the expected revenue as a result of the sale, but then the asset value is not included in the initial 2021 net worth. And the 3rd option I see is to list it under Property in Expenses with the acquisition costs, date of purchase, and ROR with the expected sale date of 2026. That is where I have it initially listed, but the sale in 2026 results in a huge dip in the Expense line (in Analysis Monte Carlo and Tabular reports) for that year when in fact it is an income windfall and should result in an uptick in expenses due to capital gains tax. Any suggestions? Am I missing something? I have looked through the Users Manual and am not finding this particular scenario addressed. TIA. Dan

ReplyQuote
(@smatthews51)
Member Admin