Clear all

Expenses in present value

8 Posts
2 Users
1 Likes
(@davidz)
Active Member Customer
Topic starter  

Hi -- I am new to Pralana, and am just working my way through its many features. One thing I noticed in tabular projections/expenses is that "Essential misc expenses" are expressed in present value, while "essential smoothed spending" is expressed current dollars. For example, I input essential misc expenses of $94,000 for 2026, and in the table it is expressed as $83,566 - the original figure discounted by 3 years at the 4% inflation rate. Maybe (even probably) I'm missing something something, but wouldn't it make more sense to use the same $ methodology consistently across the table? Thanks. David

ReplyQuote
(@smatthews51)
Member Admin

David,

PRC models many different types of expenses, so a totally consistent methodology doesn't make sense (at least, not to me). Smoothed spending is a very broad category and it is assumed that these expenses escalate at the inflation rate. The same is true for phased expenses; however, miscellaneous expenses is intended as a catch-all for one-off expenses that may or may not be adjusted for inflation. Therefore, the user has the option to have it either way, on a line item basis. If your $94,000 is to be adjusted for inflation, you can just click on the COLA? box to make it that way.

Stuart

ReplyQuote
(@davidz)
Active Member Customer
Topic starter